The frost is on the pumpkin…here’s some yummy soup to take off the chill

October 29, 2009

Daph with pumpkin

Brrrr.  It’s been so chilly here in Idaho.  It seems we went straight from summer into winter with not much of my favorite fall season in between. 

With the cooler temperatures, not much sounds better to me for dinner than a bowl of warm homey soup.  I’m kind of a soup fanatic and because of that we do “Souper Sunday” each weekend in our household.  I created this recipe for Pumpkin Soup a couple of years back and it’s become a favorite stand-by especially around this time of year.  It’s simple, low-fat and high fiber.  Plus it just tastes really good!  

If you want to be really creative and Marthaesque, hollow out a big pumpkin and serve up your soup in it.  The croutons are obviously not low-fat but they are delish and if you can keep yourself from shoving them in your mouth by the handful (I personally struggle with this), you won’t have to run too far to justify adding them to this healthy soup.

Daphne’s Easy Pumpkin Soup

 1 Tbsp olive oil

2 tsp dried sage

29 oz. can of pumpkin puree (or fresh pumpkin if you so desire)

8 cups low sodium chicken broth/stock

½ cup heavy cream

salt and pepper to taste

croutons (homemade or store bought)

 Heat olive oil and sage in large pot over medium-high heat.  Add pumpkin, stir and heat for 1 minute.  Add broth and bring to a simmer, stirring frequently for 10 minutes.  Add cream, stir and add salt and pepper to taste.  You may need a lot of salt but I prefer to use the low sodium broth and then add my own salt back in so I can control the amount that goes in.

Keep over low heat until served.  Ladle into mugs and top with crunchy croutons.   Keeps in the fridge for up to 1 week.  Makes 8 servings.

Pumpkin-soup-758189

Daphne’s Croutons

Baguette (french, sourdough, seeded – any will work)

1/4 lb unsalted butter,  melted (8 Tbsp.)

1/4 cup olive oil (garlic olive oil works wonderfully too)

sea salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Cut the baguette into 1-inch cubes.  Toss the bread cubes with the melted butter and olive oil.  Toss well so that each piece is completely coated.  Place the bread cubes on a baking sheet, lightly salt and bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. 

Use on soups and salads.  These will keep for several days in a ziploc bag or airtight container.  If they last that long!  You can also experiment and add fresh herbs, parmesan cheese to make “Caesar” croutons, etc. You would just mix in whatever you want to add when you are tossing the bread with the butter/oil mixture.

 

 

 

 

 

Share

8 Responses to “The frost is on the pumpkin…here’s some yummy soup to take off the chill”

  1. Christine and Emily Sloan Says:

    Hey great idea, I love all your recipes, you know that! I think I acutally have this one. I made it for bunco once, remember?? Hope you guys are good. Denver is getting pounded with snow…this is the second snow day fro school and we have about 2-3 feet! So much for global warming. Hope you are well, PIZZY

  2. daphnedishes Says:

    It’s been trying to snow here all day and I just looked out and it’s actually coming down a little! I saw that you guys are getting pummeled. I wish we got a little more snow here. I like the cold white stuff! Say hi to the kiddos. We’re the Addams Family for Halloween. I’ll post pictures. Thanks for reading my blog Pizzy!

  3. Amy Potts Says:

    How fun that you have this blog. I lived in Australia and they make the most fantastic pumpkin soup. It is my favorite. Tonight I made cauliflower and potato soup, very easy and healthy as well. Thanks for sharing such great ideas.

    • daphnedishes Says:

      It is fun. I just started doing it so I don’t have a ton of entries yet but I will eventually. I’ve got lots of recipes to share. Your soup sounds great. Please share if you’d like — I would love for this to be a place to swap recipes, ideas.

  4. esoileau Says:

    I have a wonderful pumpkin soup recipe I got about 12 years ago in Vegetarian Times. I remember how long ago it was because I remember making it for the first time with my now 12-year-old strapped to my body, a newborn in a sling!

    It’s on my work computer though; I’ll come back and post it tomorrow, promise!

    Ellen

    • daphnedishes Says:

      I would love to see it Ellen! I know there are many other great pumpkin soup recipes out there. The thing I love about this one is how super simple it is yet still tasty. I look forward to seeing it. Thanks for sharing a great memory.

  5. esoileau Says:

    Here it is! As I mentioned, it is from Vegetarian Times and was one of the winners in the reader-submitted soup recipe contest that year.

    Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup
    6 servings; vegan

    1½ to 2 lbs. pumpkin or other winter squash
    2 tbs. olive oil
    2 medium leeks, (white and pale green parts) halved, well-washed and thinly sliced
    3 cloves garlic
    1 large sweet potato, peeled and chopped
    1 medium red bell pepper, seeded and finely chopped
    5 to 6 cups vegetable stock or canned broth
    15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
    1 tbs. tamari or soy sauce
    1 tbs. grated peeled fresh gingerroot
    1 tsp. ground cumin
    ¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro

    Quarter and seed pumpkin. Steam until tender, 10 to 15 minutes. Allow to cool.

    Meanwhile, in medium skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add leeks and garlic and cook, stirring often, until leeks are softened, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat.

    Scrape pumpkin from peel. In large pot, combine pumpkin flesh, sweet potato, bell pepper and 5 cups broth. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until sweet potato is tender, 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from heat and cool slightly.

    In food processor or blender, puree soup, in batches if necessary. If soup is too thick, add additional broth. Return mixture to pot. Add leek mixture and remaining ingredients. Simmer until heated through. 10 to 15 minutes.

    Per 1-1/2 cup serving: 163 ca.; 6G prot.; 4G total fat (1G sat. fat); 29G carb.; 0 chol.; 467 MG sod.; 4G fiber.

    Recipe is honorable mention in Vegetarian Times’ soup recipe contest. By Marie Donadio of Seattle, Wash., who says, “When I serve this soup to my husband, I call it “Autumn in Jamaca.” It has a harvest feel with an island spice.”

    (I recommend chopping the leeks. Just slicing them produces long stringy pieces that are difficult to eat. I also suggest baking the pumpkin in the oven, or you could use canned.)

  6. D3pd Says:

    At other times I want to have and maintain a piece of land for gardening and the results can support the many, ^_^…V D3pd


Leave a Reply

